Instructors can adjust activity settings for individual learners. This is helpful if instructors want to give a learner extra time to complete an activity or let a learner skip past prior activities that no longer are relevant to them.
Reasons to adjust an individual learner's settings
Extend a deadline so learners can submit late if they missed a deadline
Remove a deadline so learners can submit anytime, even after the deadline has passed
Remove a prerequisite rule so learners can skip a previous activity that no longer applies to them
Remove an opens at or reveals at date & time so learners can get access to complete an activity early
How to adjust individual learner settings for an activity
Go to the Summary page in the course and choose the Progress view.
Find the row for the learner or learners that you want to adjust settings for. You might use the search feature or filter by tags.
Find the column for the activity title that you want to adjust. Note that you can toggle on and off the columns for activities in your course by selecting Columns.
Click on the cell that aligns to the learner and the activity with the setting that you want to adjust, and a slide in menu will appear.
Any completion or visibility rules will appear, and you can make the change you want.
After you save, you'll notice a small lightning symbol ⚡️ next to this cell, which indicates that the settings for this individual have been adjusted.
Example 1: Extending a deadline
Example 2: Removing a prerequisite to unlock an activity
Completion & Visibility: Activity settings & rules
Want to adjust settings for all learners instead? You can use completion and visibility settings to adjust specific rules for all learners. You can determine if everyone can view and access each activity, make changes to deadlines and prerequisites, and more. You can see details about these rules here.